General Info

Discover more facts about Taiwan's and Germany's demographics, political systems, geography and more.

Form of government multiparty-democracyfederal parliamentary republic
Administration5 direct-controlled municipalities (Kaohsiung, Taichung, Tainan, Taipei, New Taipei), 3 Provincial cities (Chiayi, Hsinchu, Keelung) and 14 counties (Chiayi, Changhua, Hsinchu, Hualien, Kinmen, Lienchiang, Miaoli, Nantou, Penghu, Pingtung, Taitung, Taoyuan, Yilan, Yunlin) 16 federal states (Baden-Wurttemberg, Bavaria, Berlin, Brandenburg, Bremen, Hamburg, Hesse, Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, Lower Saxony, North Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate, Saarland, Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt, Schleswig-Holstein, Thuringia)
CurrencyNew Taiwan Dollar TWDEuro €
Country code+ 886+ 49
National holidayOctober 10th - Republic DayOctober 3rd - German Unity Day (Tag der Deutschen Einheit)
Official languageMandarinGerman
LocationAsia - PacificCentral Europe
Area in km²35,980 357,340
Neighboring countriesseparated by sea: Japan, People's Republic of China, PhilippinesAustria, Denmark, Switzerland, Czech Republic, Poland, France, Netherlands, Luxembourg; seperated by sea: Sweden, United Kingdom
Political system
ConstitutionConstitution of the Republic of China (中華民國憲法) from 1947 (with amendments)Grundgesetz (GG) from 1949 (with amendments)
Head of state President Tsai Ing-Wen 蔡英文 (Since 2016)Federal president Frank-Walter Steinmeier (Since 2017)
ParliamentLegislative Yuan (113 members)Bundestag (709 members)
Parties Parliamentary elections 2016: - Democratic Progressive Party (DPP): 44.1% - Kuomintang (KMT): 26.9% - People First Party: 6.5% - New Power Party: 6.1% - Pro-Unification New Party: 4.2% - Pro-Independence Taiwan Solidarity Party: 2.5%Parliamentary elections 2017: - Christliche Demokratische Union (CDU/CSU): 32.9% - Sozialdemokratische Partei Deutschlands (SPD): 20.5% - Alternative für Deutschland (AfD): 12.6% - Freie Demokratische Partei (FDP): 10.7% - Die Linke: 9.2% - Bündnis 90/Die Grünen (Grüne): 8.9%
Head of the governmentHead of the governmentFederal Chancellor Dr. Angela Merkel (CDU), since 2004

Our Sponsors